Posted by: louiseheasman | January 22, 2010

My Top 3 Tips for Working From Home Effectively

Dedicate A Separate Space

Whilst many successful businesses start at the kitchen table, this isn’t an ideal solution for the long term. If space allows, dedicate a separate room to creating the perfect working environment for you.

By creating an office you find that your mindset shifts from house into work mode as soon as you enter the room which helps you to switch off from domestic distractions!

You also get to close the door at the end of the day and switch out of work mode back into home life!

Take Regular Breaks

Whilst this applies if you work in an office too, I’ve found that when you work from home you need to be a little more disciplined in doing this so I regularly use a timer to help me manage my time effectively. Setting the timer allows me to take those 5-10 minute breaks which really help my energy levels too.

And lets face it, one of the benefits of home working is that you can (if you choose to!) conquer the odd domestic chore in a quick 5 or 10 minute break whilst the kettle is boiling.

One example of the smug feeling I get from working from home in the summer is when I use a break to put the washing out! I find it really therapeutic as it’s a mindless task which really helps me to switch off. Interestingly, I often get an inspiring thought or idea which then fires me up when I get back to my desk.

Avoiding Cabin Fever!

Avoid cabin fever by getting out of the house! I often take my laptop to the local coffee shop or library if I need to work somewhere more quiet. A change of scene really helps sometimes.

I also find that going onto to social networking sites like Twitter or Facebook, helps me to feel connected with the world! It’s important though to manage your time, so again for me the timer comes in useful as I limit myself to 10 minutes at a time.

Leave a Reply

Categories

