Posted by: louiseheasman | February 10, 2010

Top Tips For Getting A Project Off The Ground

Following my post yesterday, here’s what I did to get my project finally off the ground. It’s all too easy to let procrastination and perfectionism take over and sabotage the whole thing so it’s crucial to take back control and move things forward. Sometimes it’s easier said than done but you may find these tips helpful if you are experiencing a similar situation.

Diminish the task

How can you break down the project? Does it have to cover absolutely everything at once or can you chunk it down into more digestible pieces?

By diminishing a difficult task or project you immediately can start to move it forward and the smaller successes will spur you on to completing it fully later. This really helps to keep you motivated.

I love being able to cross things off my list. It really helps me to feel that I’m achieving something. Baby steps and all that…

Remind yourself of the goal or vision

Tapping into WHY you are doing this can really help you see the wood for the trees. Having a compelling vision as to WHY this project is so important can really help you in the motivation stakes.

Try to make the vision or goal really visual. Maybe have a picture of your reward on your wall so next time you are tempted to prevaricate, you look up, see your goal and you feel inspired once more to plough on.

This tip always serves me well. I often question myself as to WHY I’m doing something or want to do something and it’s rather enlightening to see how easy it can be to get carried away with something out of habit or because you feel it’s expected of you. In this case, it was the sales projections that motivated me to keep at it!

Ditch the  lone ranger act!

Enlist help and support from others where you possibly can. Do you really have to do this on your own? If you work from home it’s easy to fall into this trap. By outsource elements of the project it takes the burden off you and helps you to complete the task quicker and maybe even better! So you could end up making more money and saving time – wonderful!

If outsourcing parts of the project to others is really out of the question, how about enlisting domestic help to free up more of your time so you can concentrate on the task in hand? Or how about getting round to outsourcing your book-keeping and accounts which will easily free up a chunk of your time?

I found this tip really helpful the other day. My VA and a good friend came to the rescue! My VA was able to manage several aspects that I hadn’t really considered (I was too close to the project to really see this) and my friend gave me an extra two hours by doing the school run and taking my youngest off to dance class.

Pat on the back time

Another good motivator when you’re feeling a little despondant is to look back on what you have achieved so far. Pat yourself on the back! Acknowledge your successes however small. A big project is a journey and it’s important to recognise your achievements along the way.

Take a deep breath, take a break and come back with a fresh pair of eyes and brain!

I have to thank one of my readers for this tip! It served me well yesterday. Despite the cold and the sleet (I know I’m a wimp!) I took myself off for a brisk walk and I was able to come back feeling invigorated.

I hope that helps! As always, please feel free to share your ideas too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

